New Year, Same God

From Sara Teasdale’s Winter Stars:

Years go, dreams go, and youth goes too,

The world’s heart breaks beneath its wars,

All things are changed, save in the east

 The faithful beauty of the stars.

Isn’t that beautiful? Sad, but beautiful.

But “the faithful beauty of the stars” doesn’t give really comfort me at the start of a new year. (Are you with me on that one?)

This is more hopeful:

Lord, thou hast been our dwelling place in all generations.

Before the mountains were brought forth,

or ever thou hadst formed the earth and the world,

even from everlasting to everlasting,

thou art God….

It is the unchanging, “faithful beauty” of God that brings security. (Or at least it should….)

And we can pray:

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom…. 

And:

Let thy work appear unto thy servants, and thy glory unto their children.

And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us:

and establish thou the work of our hands upon us;

yea, the work of our hands establish thou it.

I thought 2013 was going to be a quiet, uneventful year.

I was wrong.

There have been some hard times indeed, but there has been rich blessing even in the troubles.

Undaunted by my previous inaccuracies, like any good weather forecaster I have predictions for this year too. But I certainly don’t have the script for “Sarah’s life in 2014”.  God is the only One who knows all that 2014 will hold, and He’s the only One who needs to know.

Me? I guess I better just take a deep breath, try not to scream too loudly when the rollercoaster plunges, and laugh when I get off at the other end.

Happy new year!

One thought on “New Year, Same God

Thank you for commenting! Please note that I moderate all comments.

